Latest News

  • Our next meeting will be on Monday, September 17th when Liz Wooley will return to Adderbury to talk about  “Beer, Sausages and Marmalade: Oxford Food and Drink in the 19th Century”. In the nineteenth century Oxford became well-known for its ‘Celebrated Oxford Sausages’ and for Frank Cooper’s ‘Oxford Marmalade’ and for the brewing, baking and grocery trades. This talk will examine the fascinating relationship between food production, tourism and politics in the city.
  • Make a note in your diary for a History Association Exhibition to commemorate the role of Adderbury’s people in the great War 1914-1918. This wil be held in the Methodist School Room in Adderbury on Saturday November 10th from 11.00a.m. until 5.00p.m. The exhibition will be instead of an evening meeting in November.

  • There are still copies available of the Association’s latest publication, In It Together, by Barry Davis. This is a detailed and informative study of how the village has coped with warfare throughout the centuries, giving equal importance to those who went off to fight and those who took important supporting roles at home. An absorbing gift for anyone with an interest in the history of Adderbury. Copies can be obtained either from Adderbury Library or from the Association (see Contact Us above). Price £15, plus £3 postage and packing if applicable.
  • The Association’s meetings normally take place in the Adderbury Methodist Church School Room, Chapel Lane, Adderbury, at 7.15 p.m. for 7.30 p.m. New members are always very welcome. The annual subscription is £12.50 and the subscription year begins in January. Visitors are welcome (cost £2.50).